Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

North Cottesloe Waves

north cott, seascape photography, seascapes, landscape photography australia, australian landscape photography, cottesloe

Last night I decided to hit Perth metro beaches. I was determined not to end up at North Cottesloe beach as I had shot it so many times before, but as usual I ended up at you guessed it…… North Cottesloe. I do love it down there.

The rocks and their formations are simply awesome and you can stand right out on the edge of them without getting too wet, though I did cop a soaking last night.

For me one of the best things about winter is that the North Cottesloe magic that has been hiding all summer is revealed. Exquisite rocks that were covered by sand are now exposed and facing the full force of the ocean after spending almost six months in hibernation, protected by a blanket of sand.

Winter would have to be a seascape photographers best friend.

Thanks,

Jamie Paterson

13 responses

  1. nice movement

    Sunday, June 26, 2011 at 17:56

  2. Super drama 🙂

    Monday, June 27, 2011 at 4:14

  3. Stunning shot again Jamie.

    Monday, June 27, 2011 at 12:49

    • Thanks again Andrea. To get this one I stood on the ledge on the right hand side of where we were standing last week. Got soaked quite a few times!

      jamie

      Monday, June 27, 2011 at 12:53

  4. Tony Middleton

    Cool colour and water movement Jamie !

    Tuesday, June 28, 2011 at 18:52

    • Hi Tony. I went back to my beginnings with this photo. I will definitely be heading out and capturing more of these shots again.

      Jamie

      Tuesday, June 28, 2011 at 21:29

  5. What was your shutter speed on this one mate?

    Wednesday, June 29, 2011 at 21:59

    • Hi Mark,

      It was bang on 1 sec. Seems to be the sweet spot for these sorts of shots.

      Thanks,

      Jamie

      Thursday, June 30, 2011 at 7:13

  6. bit late I know but sweet shot Jamie. just flicking through blogs to try and get up to date after a couple of quiet months (on line anyway!) and this stood out big time. great foreground and awesome movement in the wave.
    great stuff man! 🙂

    Thursday, July 14, 2011 at 22:05

    • Hi Stephen, never to late for praise! lol. Thanks for taking the time to catch up and say hello and comment. Hopefully we’ll be hearing more from you again. Is your 2012 calendar coming along?

      Jamie

      Friday, July 15, 2011 at 6:54

      • Haha, very true Jamie. 😛 And I’m giving it a miss for a bit, last year was a bad year with moving and then trying to do it from up here. I just didn’t have the time to dedicate to it- which is crucial at the beginner stage.
        The fact I can’t even find time to check anyone’s blogs, or make a post of my own lately I think has confirmed it was a right decision this year lol. Will wait till I get back down to Perth and get settled down again 🙂

        Tuesday, July 26, 2011 at 21:38

Leave a Reply

