Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Northam Ruins

northam, hot air ballon, australian landscape photography, outback

Hi Everyone,

The other day I headed out to Northam on a covert mission.  The mission?   It was Melissa and I’s 10th wedding anniversary and she had arranged for us to take a trip on a hot air balloon which I knew about but she had also arranged for a marriage celebrant to join us on the flight so that we could renew our vows at 2500ft.

Unfortunately, for us the weather wasn’t safe enough for us to fly so Melissa and I headed down to the Avon River and renewed our vows down there.  It was one of those really nice moments.

The evening before we decided to drive down the Northam – Katrine Rd to see if we could get a sunset photo of something when we came across this old house.  It turns out that this place ‘Glenfield’ I believe it is called is often photographed with lots of canola surrounding it but I was more after this dry kind of look, so I achieved the mission.  I’ve added a map of where it is in case you guys would like to head out there sometime for a shoot yourselves.

Map of Glenfield Homestead

To get this shot I used a single image from my 50mm f/1.2 lens and double processed the raw image for the sky and the foreground and then combined them in Photoshop.   All comments are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jamie Paterson

20 responses

  1. Very nice Jamie, looks good! Sounds like a great day all up!

    Saturday, April 2, 2011 at 22:28

    • Hi Tim,

      Thanks for that mate. It was a great day for sure. Shame we didn’t get up in the balloon but there is always next time. 🙂

      Jamie

      Saturday, April 2, 2011 at 22:40

  2. Tony Middleton

    Cool image Jamie – I love those old stone ruins and this one is a cracker by the looks. Top work on the processing too mate.

    Sunday, April 3, 2011 at 7:37

  3. Tony Middleton

    Cool image Jamie – I love those old stone ruins and this one is a cracker by the looks. Top work on the processing too mate.

    Congratulations and well done on the 10yrs and renewing your vows 🙂

    Sunday, April 3, 2011 at 7:38

    • Hi Tony. Thanks for the congratulations its a significant milestone for us because most people don’t know that we almost didn’t make it. We did however and of course ended up with our two beautiful boys. I can’t wait to get back to this place once the Canola starts to grow over it.

      Jamie

      Sunday, April 3, 2011 at 8:26

  4. Hi Jamie, Nice image! You’ve done a good job with the blending, I still prefer grads over the blending leaves more time to shoot and less for PP:) Congrats on the 10 years mate.

    Sunday, April 3, 2011 at 10:17

    • Thanks Ben. I’ll use grads and multiple exposures depending on what I need to do. I agree using grads makes it a lot easier at the end of the day. 🙂

      Jamie

      Sunday, April 3, 2011 at 11:07

  5. Yep I rate it mate…I reckon darken the foreground just a tad and then you have gold son!

    Wednesday, April 6, 2011 at 16:22

    • I’ll give it a bash mate and see what it looks like. Thanks for re-subscribing.

      Thursday, April 7, 2011 at 12:00

  6. Oh and congrads on the new vows as well mate…forgot to add that! 🙂

    Wednesday, April 6, 2011 at 16:24

  7. matt saul

    yep sweet shot mate..nice soft light!
    I like the ruins in the center too..i wonder what it would look like as a square though, loosing the tree on the left and the same amount on the right?
    congrats on the 10th anniversary too and thanks again for the 77mm adapter ring..legend!

    Wednesday, April 6, 2011 at 21:06

    • Hi Matt,

      Thanks for the congratulations. We almost never made it, but we managed to pull through so its very special to us. 🙂 No problems with the 77mm adapter either I hope it helps and it was my pleasure. I will try the square. Its not something I’ve played with a lot but I like what you and Steve do with them. Thanks for the advice mate.

      Thursday, April 7, 2011 at 12:00

  8. Chloe

    nice one jamie & happy 10 year anni to you both!

    Thursday, April 7, 2011 at 17:49

  9. wayte27

    Hey Jamie did you get out tonight, this morning surely you could of not resisted the temptation with ALL those clouds

    Thursday, April 7, 2011 at 21:31

    • Hi Adrian. No I didn’t get out tonight. I had to go to training. I’ll be out in the morning and probably most of the weekend if the weather stays like this. 🙂

      Thursday, April 7, 2011 at 21:35

  10. Great shot Jamie, love old ruins.
    What an absolutely gorgeous thing to do for such a special anniversary, we all go through very hard times and it’s great to see you both make the decision to see it through. Congratulations to you both.

    Thursday, April 7, 2011 at 21:42

  11. Lovely looking light Jamie. Nice shot. Congrats on the 10 years of wedded bliss.

    Saturday, April 30, 2011 at 9:42

Leave a Reply

