Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Ultimate Daddy And Son Day Out

Hi Everyone,

The other day Xavier and I had the ultimate daddy and son day out.   Xavier is absolutely obsessed by helicopters (not sure where he gets that from.  Me?) and planes, so the other day we headed over to the RAAF Aviation Museum in Bullcreek.   Its been there ever since I was a kid and I had never gone to check it out.   He and I were blown away, the museum not only has a very large display of planes but it also has some extremely important planes as well.  Its well worth visit if you haven’t been.   The best part of the museum for Xavier though, was a little Robinson R22 helicopter that was on display.  He was even more excited when he realised he was allowed to climb inside and push the buttons, which then turned lights on and off as well as turning the rotor blades.    He played on it………. sorry did his flight training on it for at least 10mins and when we left we didn’t think our day could get any better.

We decided to head over to Jandakot Airport to see the planes taking off and landing and it turned out the best vantage point on the day was near the Rescue 1 helicopter hangar.   Imagine our surprise and delight when the pilot came over and asked if Xavier would like to come into the hangar and ‘have a go’ on Rescue 1!   Not sure who was more excited, me or Xavier.

A big thank you to Lincoln who allowed Xavier to get some command time in the pilot seat and push any button that he wanted, it made his day and two days later he is still saying “Xavier push the buttons’ whenever Rescue 1 flies over our house.   Its so cool that people still take the time to do things like that.

So Saturday was then declared the ‘Ultimate Daddy and Son Day Out’.   Can’t wait for the next one.

Jamie

7 responses

  1. Very cool story Jamie!

    Monday, March 7, 2011 at 20:33

  2. I bet you have gained big brownie points!

    Tuesday, March 8, 2011 at 10:21

    • Hey Tim. Probably did, but as you know it wasn’t about that. 🙂 I’m thinking of actually taking him up in a helicopter this week. That will blow his mind away.

      Tuesday, March 8, 2011 at 18:07

  3. Mate what an awesome day! Reminds me of when my Dad would take me in to work with him.. he was in the Army and I would get to check out all the equipment 🙂

    Looking forward to one day having days like that with my kids when we have some 🙂

    – paul

    Tuesday, March 8, 2011 at 13:52

    • Hi Paul,

      Its great fun doing things like this. I blew my Dad away when I was still in the Navy I flew him across to Sydney to spend a day at sea submerged on the submarine that I was posted to.

      Jamie

      Tuesday, March 8, 2011 at 18:08

  4. Chloe

    he’ll remember this forever, as will you Jamie & that is precious x

    Tuesday, March 8, 2011 at 16:36

Leave a Reply

