Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Na Pali Coast

na pali, na pali helicopter, landscape photograpy, aerial photography, kauai, hawaii

Hi Everyone,

Well the excitement is well and truly started!   Mark has just driven into Fremantle to pick up the keys to the gallery so that we can start hanging our photos in readiness for the exhibition opening on Friday night.   I hope you are all excited as we are.

This photo was taken on my second last day in Kauai and it was really cool to be buzzing around the Na Pali coast in a helicopter.   I must admit though, when we first got to height and started going right up to the canyon walls I started to wonder how much closer we could get, before the blades were going to hit the walls.   I also admit to being white knuckled and grabbing my seat when we went racing over a ridge being only to see there was a 4000ft drop on the other side.

Once we all settled in though it was an awesome flight.  We spent 60min in the air and weaved in and out of lots of nooks and crannies and saw some fantastic waterfalls as well, as always it was a real let down once we had to head home.

From the air the waves are deceptive in their height, the waves crashing into the cliffs were actually close to 20ft in height.

The camera settings I used while in the air were: AV Priority – F8, ISO 400, shutter speed as determined by camera.   I hope you guys like it.

See you all Friday night!,

Thanks,

Jamie Paterson

24 responses

  1. True North Mark

    Not too bad mate!

    Let the games begin!

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 18:30

  2. Wow that gives it some pretty good perspective eh like it much eh mate 🙂 hopefully I will be there mate sounds like a fun night indeed I missed you at the Pilbara Expo.

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 18:36

  3. Thanks mate. Hopefully there won’t be too many games before now and Friday night. Nothing that we can’t handle though.

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 18:45

  4. Hey Brett thanks for that mate. Make sure we catch up Friday night, it will be great to finally meet you. 🙂

    Jamie

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 18:46

    • I will do indeed mate eh 🙂

      Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 18:47

  5. Wicked mate. I’ll see you then.

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 18:55

  6. Hoping to make it over there after the wedding I’m photographing friday night 🙂

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 20:24

  7. Awesome shot mate great detail. I’m spewing I think i’ll be up here in Karratha so i’ll miss the show. Good Luck boys..

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 20:45

  8. Hi Paul,

    We’ll be there for quite a few hours. It would be great to meet up with you. I love your wave shots!

    Jamie

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 20:52

    • Thanks Jamie,

      We’ll see how we go, I’m aiming to get out of the wedding by 6.30pm.. but weddings never seem to go to schedule 😉

      – paul

      Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 21:13

  9. Hi Cleggy,

    Thanks mate. I appreciate the support even if you aren’t able to make it. 🙂

    Jamie

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 20:53

  10. matt saul

    really like this, nice work mate!

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 21:39

  11. matt saul

    Would look cool upside down with a bit off the left and a bit off the right..could get some cool diagonals happening!

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 21:40

  12. Hey Matt,

    Thanks for that mate. I’m pretty stoked with this photo as well, I managed to get some good shots around this area as I wasn’t having to hang on to tight to the roller coaster helicopter!

    Jamie

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 21:57

  13. Great shot Jamie,a little different to what you normally see. Good luck with the exhibition!

    Thursday, February 24, 2011 at 21:35

  14. wayte27

    Hey Jamie, congrats on putting the exhibition together. Great effort from both you boys and some nice images to boot. Great inspiration indeed.
    Cheers Adrian & Skye

    Saturday, February 26, 2011 at 10:31

  15. Andrea Green

    That is so cool Jamie, I can’t believe the waves are so huge.

    When I have some spare cash I will definately be in on a helicopter shoot with you like we spoke about last night. I think it would be great.

    Well done with the exhibition opening last night, it was great and you guys have got some amazing shots. You should be very proud of yourself.

    Saturday, February 26, 2011 at 13:14

  16. Hi Tim,

    Thanks very much mate. It was a really fun night.

    Jamie

    Saturday, February 26, 2011 at 14:27

  17. Hi Adrian and Skye,

    Thanks for turning up guys. It was really appreciated and it was fun to have everyone there.

    Jamie

    Saturday, February 26, 2011 at 14:28

  18. Hi Andrea,

    Thank you for the great comment about the photo. Good to catch up again and I’ll let you know when I decide to head out in a chopper again.

    Jamie

    Saturday, February 26, 2011 at 14:29

  19. Hey Jamie,

    Dropped in with my mate Andrew for a little while.. you guys have some awesome images! It was great to see your work in print! 🙂

    – paul

    Saturday, February 26, 2011 at 14:34

  20. Hi Paul,

    Thanks for taking the time to drop in and have a look around. Mark and I were really happy with the way things turned out.

    Jamie

    Saturday, February 26, 2011 at 14:37

  21. I like this one jamie

    Thursday, April 14, 2011 at 19:24

Leave a Reply

