Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Cradle Mountain

cradle mountain, tasmania, black and white photography, cradle mountain national park, dove lake, australian landscape photography

Hi Crew,

Cradle Mountain, what a stunning piece of the Tasmanian landscape.   I drove past it quite a few times when I was in Tasmania in 1987 but I never had the opportunity to stop and have a look at it unfortunately.  Since then its been burnt on my mind.    I’ve been to Tasmania six times over the years but never as a photographer and finally when I went there in January this year I was lucky enough to spend the night at Cradle Mountain.

It captivated me, it was beautiful, seemingly untouched and still very wild.  It drew me in and I wanted to spend more time there so I planned to stay at Cradle Mountain for 5 days a couple of weeks ago.   It was so much fun.   As I was there for 5 days I got to see the mountains different moods and absorb the atmosphere.   There is a very strong sense of place running through this place.

Its no wonder Gustav Weindorfer lived most of his adult life there.   Well I hope you guys enjoy this photo.   If you ever get the chance to head on over to Tassie make sure you spend at least a few days at Cradle Mountain.

20 responses

  1. that is very nice Jamie.
    damn you for taking my pre envisioned image though lol.
    so so many images here with the rocks, or pebbles in the foreground. I want some bushland or something, just like this lol.

    just letting you know in advance that when I eventually get to Tas, i’ll be doing a shot like this hahaha 😛 although probably in colour.

    love the B/W treatment you’ve done though. bloody amazing all round man! 🙂

    Tuesday, September 28, 2010 at 22:11

    • Hi Stephen,

      Sorry for stealing your shot. I actually took this one by accident, I was running late for sunset and was rushing to the spot with the rocks when I looked over and saw this and decided that this was the spot. As you said its a little different. I went with black and white on this one because there was still lots of snow and mist around which lead to pretty poor colour at sunset.

      Thanks for commenting mate,

      Jamie

      Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 6:31

  2. Great image Jamie and it works really well in black and white. I commend you for producing an original take on Cradle Mountain, well done with the foreground. Personally I would shoot something really abstract here with no foreground and all mountain + the reflection. But that’s me, this works well. Perhaps the mountain is just a tad too centered in the frame.

    Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 4:36

    • Hi Flemming,

      Thank you, great comments. I do have another set of shots with no foreground that I will be posting next up so stay tuned I’m just warming up. 😉 In this instance I did debate about putting the mountain in the centre but I wanted it to be the ‘centrepiece’ so to speak. Most of my other shots have it either off to the left or right. Keep the videos coming!

      Jamie

      Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 6:34

  3. oooo lovely moody/contrasty shot jamie, very impressive

    Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 6:32

    • Hey Chloe,

      Thanks for that. It was definitely a moody evening that day.

      Jamie

      Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 6:36

  4. have to come back and add that I really like the central possie Jamie. because of that, you’ve got those strong diagonals, all leading to the peak. for me, that’s what added to the impact 🙂

    i know how picky Flembot can be at times, hehe 😛
    wouldn’t want it any other way though Flem!

    Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 17:50

    • Hi Stephen,

      Thanks for that mate. I agree that the central position worked for me in this particular instance but I tend to try and stay away from those sort of compositions. I too appreciate the honest feedback we get from Flembot and I’d be disappointed if I got anything else but that.

      Jamie

      Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 19:28

  5. agree totally Jamie! i’d much prefer his honest feedback, telling me how I can improve- then some “hey, nice photo, come check my blog” type comment lol.

    lost track of what i’ve learned from you Flem, as i’ve said to you many times I wish I had something I could teach you in return haha. But i’ll try and make it up to you when you get here to the Pilbara, and one day the Stirling’s lol.

    now we better stop talking about him Jamie, his head will soon be too big to fit on the plane! maybe that’s not a bad thing…. mwahaha 😛

    Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 22:41

  6. aw shucks mates…thanks so much 🙂 Flembot is hard to please but I mean it all the best of ways, just wanna help mates improve their craft. Ta mates 😀 (my big head will now make True North sit low in the water!)

    Wednesday, September 29, 2010 at 23:57

  7. Very nice image Jamie! The reflection makes it for me. In all the time I have spent at Cradle Mt over the years, (my father lived there for years) I have still to get a good image of the mountain! Either covered with raincloud or boring cloudless sky. All in the timing eh!

    Thursday, September 30, 2010 at 9:06

    • Hi Tim,

      Thanks for the comment. It is all in the timing. For such an imposing feature on the landscape it is very hard to capture it properly.

      Jamie

      Thursday, September 30, 2010 at 9:45

  8. True North Mark

    Nice classic style of landscape there Jamie!

    Thursday, September 30, 2010 at 18:42

  9. Great shot Jamie, love the black and white, gives it such depth and mood.

    Friday, October 1, 2010 at 21:24

    • Hi Peta,

      Thank you so much. 🙂 I love getting comments like this from someone as talanted as yourself.

      Jamie

      Saturday, October 2, 2010 at 0:19

  10. Tony Middleton

    Nice classical ‘Cradle’ image there Jamie – it really is a magical part of the country isn’t it !

    cheers,
    tone 🙂

    Sunday, October 3, 2010 at 18:49

    • Hi Tony,

      I have to agree it is an amazing part of the country. I’m back there again in about six weeks time.

      Jamie

      Monday, October 4, 2010 at 20:15

  11. Great capture Jamie….looks great as a B&W

    Monday, October 4, 2010 at 14:27

    • Hi Sandy,

      Thank you very much. The colour version just didn’t do the mountain justice on this particular night.

      Jamie

      Monday, October 4, 2010 at 20:15

Leave a Reply

