Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Awesome Tasmania

Mt Roland, Tasmania, Australian Landscape Photography, fine art landscape photography

Hi Everyone,

Welcome to Mt Roland in Tasmania.   I’d seen this mountain when I was in Tasmania in January but unfortunately I didn’t get a chance to photograph it as I ran out of time.  In fact I almost ran out of time again on this occasion as I only had 3 hours before jumping on the plane and it had taken me much longer to get to this spot because of ice on the road.    I’m not really sure how we are supposed to drive with ice on the road as I’ve never done it before so I just went amazingly slow on the road.

Mt Roland is really a very imposing feature in the Sheffield area as Mr Tim “Island Images” Wootton will confirm, after all its his home turf.   I’m glad I finally got to shoot it and I’ll definitely have another go at it again when I’m back there in six weeks time.

Just out of curiosity, does anyone have any hints for what to do when driving when there is ice on the road?

Thanks,

Jamie Paterson

Australian landscape photography

12 responses

  1. Hey Jamie,
    Yeah ice hmm maybe like a gravel road flat out hmm or maybe not yeah not really sure on the ice driving myself but the image is nice mate the dam in the foreground is good and the composition is good to I like it, only thing I would change maybe try to get some more detail out of the mountain its self but good shot mate :).

    Sunday, September 19, 2010 at 14:22

    • Hi Brett,

      Thanks mate. In the full resolution shot there is heaps of detail in the mountain. Yeah ice on the road is something completely different to me.

      Jamie

      Sunday, September 19, 2010 at 14:35

  2. Hey Jamie,
    Yeah not sure if detail was the correct terminology because there is heaps of it in there I was just thinking maybe the shadow over the mountain but having another look at the image it adds to the emotion of the image being in Tazzie :).
    Yeah maybe we should come up with some sort of tyre heat dispersants to melt the ice as we drive lol.
    Brett

    Sunday, September 19, 2010 at 14:42

  3. True North Mark

    Nice tranquil scene there Jamie!

    Sunday, September 19, 2010 at 20:00

  4. Hi mate, nice capture. Typically with ice on the road….wait about 4 hours until the sun melts it…..

    Monday, September 20, 2010 at 10:52

    • Hi Andrew,

      Thanks mate. Problem with Tassie is the ice hangs around for ages!

      Jamie

      Monday, September 20, 2010 at 11:52

  5. Hi Jamie, I have shot from this particular spot a few times, shame you didn’t get better light on the mountain but that is Tas. weather for you!
    Ice on the road, all you can do is drive sloooowly and carefully. Especially coming down the Cradle Mt road!

    Monday, September 20, 2010 at 11:37

    • Hi Tim,

      I was disappointed with the light conditions myself but I just had to make do with what I had. Yes that Cradle Mountain road was scary as the car did slip once or twice.

      Jamie

      Monday, September 20, 2010 at 11:53

  6. Tony Middleton

    lovely serenity with the reflections Jamie !

    Tuesday, September 21, 2010 at 19:27

Leave a Reply

