Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Reflected Oceanicity

seascapes, seascape photography, australian landscape photography

Okay, I’m just going to come out with it and say this is my favourite photo that I’ve taken in a long time.   It has everything that I strive to capture in my photos.   Its got a nice warming colour and strong water movement as well.  I had to wait for just the right moment and exposure to get those reflections in the water and to capture the wave exploding onto the reef.

Hopefully this photo will earn me Mr Flemming’s ‘King of the Waves’ tittle again.  I think it will as I’ve managed to capture my passion for the ocean in this photo.

I hope you guys all like it as well,

Thanks,

Jamie Paterson

16 responses

  1. True North Mark

    Yep cool shot mate…where is it?

    Thursday, August 19, 2010 at 22:49

  2. King of Waves, Master of the element of Water. That you are my friend!

    This is awesome. Really is. Very good as is! I would personally wish to be a bit closer to those waves and clouds. Perhaps a tight mirrored crop, I’ll email you a cropped version.

    Friday, August 20, 2010 at 4:02

  3. muzz

    Beautiful image Jamie. I’d like to see a pano crop too, losing a bit of the foreground which seems a little heavy. Good to see FBJ has your back – if ever you falter …….

    Friday, August 20, 2010 at 13:12

    • Hi Muzz

      Thanks for stopping by. FBJ has sent me his cropped version and I must admit I like it now. I’m conflicted. The big thing I like about my photo is the reflections in the water down by my feet. The pano version removes that. What to do? Any thoughts? I might just use both of them!

      Thanks,

      Jamie

      Friday, August 20, 2010 at 19:45

  4. I sent the email right after my comment? Trying again…

    Friday, August 20, 2010 at 13:31

  5. chloe

    mesmerizing photograph Jamie, this is inspiring!
    I took your advice and got out & about on Tuesday to take some photos 🙂

    we had intentions of going to flinders jetty..one of your suggestions.. but we didn’t make it there hehe

    Friday, August 20, 2010 at 17:32

    • Hey Chloe

      I saw your photos and I was wondering where the jetty was. Hehe. One of your photos was really stunning. I’ll comment on it shortly.

      Thanks,

      Jamie Paterson

      Friday, August 20, 2010 at 19:51

  6. Wow great shot mate… what a cracker.

    Friday, August 20, 2010 at 18:51

    • Kheng,

      Nice to see your comment as always. Thanks for your great comment as I said this photo is a favourite of mine.

      Thanks,

      Jamie Paterson

      Friday, August 20, 2010 at 19:52

  7. stunning image Jamie, it’s always nice when you can capture something exactly the way you want to. Very serene

    Thursday, August 26, 2010 at 10:12

  8. HI Jamie,
    This is an amazing image just the way it is mate love those reflections hard to get in a seascape thats for sure and the wave crashing adds power to the image to eh :).
    Brett

    Saturday, September 18, 2010 at 2:07

    • Hey Brett,

      At the end of the day I ended up liking the cropped version and this one. Just means I can sell two photos from one capture. 🙂 I loved those relections so much.

      Thanks

      Jamie

      Saturday, September 18, 2010 at 7:26

Leave a Reply

