Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Love a Perth Winter

perth australian landscape photography winter stream creek jamie paterson

Hey Crew,

Winters on its way and I’m getting excited.  Not only do we need the water here in Perth but it also means its waterfall time and I love waterfalls.   They are exciting to photograph because not only are they visually spectacular but they have such strength behind them as well.   I’ve found a few good ones over the past two Winters but I’m really hoping to find new waterfalls this season.   Fingers crossed that I will.

Winter also brings some really cool storms so its a great time to head down to the beach and get some awesome seascape shots of waves crashing against the rocks.  So bring it on Winter.  Bring it on!

Anyone else like like taking photos of waterfalls?  What special considerations do have when taking photos of waterfalls?   For me its taking a rag to wipe off all the spray, placing my camera in a plastic bag to protect it and to wear shoes with excellent grip.

Have a great and safe weekend everyone.

Thanks,

Jamie Paterson

8 responses

  1. wayte27

    Hey Jamie, this has a great composition and tranquil feel about it. Speaking of storms check out my post from tonight, thanks for stopping by and commenting on the margaret river images.
    There is cool waterfall in the city, let me know if you find it, its near the mount hospital, if your keen lets catch up or even trek up to araluen, they have some nice natural waterfalls.
    cheers Adrian.

    Friday, May 14, 2010 at 22:45

    • Hi Adrian,

      I will check out post and no problems about the Margaret River comments, those photos were sensational. I know the waterfall you are talking about I’ve photographed it a few times. I’d be keen to check out Araluen for sure. I love it up there.

      Jamie

      Friday, May 14, 2010 at 23:13

  2. truenorthmark

    Nice clean image mate!

    Friday, May 14, 2010 at 23:57

  3. Hi Jamie,
    I love to have water in my images, fortunately I live within a short drive of great water and some excellent waterfalls. Here’s one of my recent shots. http://johnfuji.wordpress.com/2010/04/29/the-right-equipment-helps/
    I’m enjoying your photography!
    John

    Saturday, May 15, 2010 at 6:29

  4. My eyes was instantly drawn to the centre of the frame, you’ve done well to guide the viewer into the scene.
    Shooting waterfalls is always challenging but definitely rewarding. The old classic waterfall image is what got me into this game in the first place.

    Saturday, May 15, 2010 at 9:17

  5. Great shot Jamie! I reckon the ideal shutter speed for these kind of shots is 1/4 to 2 secs. Still gives the water some texture.

    Saturday, May 15, 2010 at 11:27

  6. Lisa

    wow this is lovely Jamie !!

    Sunday, May 16, 2010 at 20:25

Leave a Reply

