Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Hellfire Bay Esperance

hellfire bay esperance australian landscape photography jamie paterson

Hi Everyone,

Esperance, what an amazing place for a landscape photographer to head to.   I can’t wait to get back down there and spend some real time getting photos there.    Esperance has everything in such close proximity to each other.   You spend one morning down at Lucky Bay shooting beach scenes and then that night spend the evening shooting rocky coastly scenes.   Next time I’m down there I’d really like to head East a bit more and check out Cape Arid National Park, it looks like there are some really cool sand dunes, shipwrecks and other interesting features to capture down there.

I managed to capture this shot after trying to capture Hellfie Bay in the morning light but I just wasn’t happy with what I was getting so I moved around the corner and saw this view before me.   My eyes lit up when I saw this and I started to snap away.  It just goes to show that you should never give up.   If you aren’t capturing what you want, stop and think about what is available to you and what can work for you and try shooting that instead.

If all else fails try just the old ‘turn around and look behind you trick’ how many of you have tried that and have it work for you?

Hope you all enjoyed your weekend,

Jamie Paterson

5 responses

  1. wayte27

    Hey Jamie Esperance is awesome. I have thought about living there well at least Albany. I posted another Esperance image the other day. Hey did you happen to get out and shoot the storm front yesterday. Its was crazy along the metro coast. Have a look at my latest images from the storm, maybe add me as a link !
    cheers Adrian

    Tuesday, March 23, 2010 at 8:42

  2. i like this shot Jamie- but somethings not right for me with the processing on that hill hey. doesn’t sit right for me. apart from that it looks like a great sunset, and it’s a real nice composition 🙂

    Tuesday, March 23, 2010 at 20:35

  3. another nice shot mate! i still havent been down to esperance but one day i will

    Friday, March 26, 2010 at 16:16

    • Hi Dylan,

      Thanks for that mate. I’m sure I’ll head back down again soon. I’ll let you know when.

      Jamie

      Friday, March 26, 2010 at 16:52

Leave a Reply

