Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Rippled Waves at Port Beach

australian wave photography, wave photographs, wave surf photography, jamie paterson photography, port beach, fremantle

Hi Everyone,

Well this is my first attempt at something a little different so hopefully you’ll be kind to me.   I’ve been memorised by wave photographs for years and I’ve finally taken the step and gone out and got myself an underwater housing.   I’ve been out twice this week and its so much fun, though I must admit I’ve been thrown around heaps in the surf and ended up with lots of scrapes from the sand.

Its just so refreshing to dive into the water and have a play around for an hour or so and then hop out and watch the sunset before heading home.     Clint Baker is also having a crack at this sort of photography as well so head over to his site to check his stuff out.

So will anyone else be joining Clint and I in the water?

I hope everyone is having a great and safe weekend!!!

28 responses

  1. I used to do a lot of this sort of photography a few years back, swimming around the break with a Nikonos IV chasing surfers and windsurfers.
    Lots of fun, kept me fit and at times coming close to getting nailed badly if you weren’t keeping an eye on things.
    If you managed 2-3 good shots out of a roll of film you were doing well so frustration is all part of it!
    Keep it up mate it’s a great challenge!

    Tim

    Saturday, February 27, 2010 at 10:34

    • Hi Tim,

      Its frustrating you said it!!! However, its rewarding when you manage to pull something off.

      Jamie

      Monday, March 1, 2010 at 14:30

  2. zak

    wow. a real nice perspective 😀
    hoping for some cool underwater shots also, now that u’ve got yourself some new gear.

    GJ

    zak

    Saturday, February 27, 2010 at 10:57

    • Hi Zak,

      Thanks for the commment. I’m really into half in and half out water shots so hopefully I’ll get a ton of those sorts of shots.

      Jamie

      Monday, March 1, 2010 at 14:31

  3. Hey Jaime

    Cool shot, looks like the surf was only small. what set up are you using in the housing. I added you to my blogroll as well…
    Cheers

    Darren

    Saturday, February 27, 2010 at 12:12

    • Hi Darren,

      I’m using the Aquatech D35 with a second hand Canon 5D in it. The wave was only small but I’m more into the colours and shape of the wave rather than its size. 🙂 Thank you for adding me to your blogroll.

      Jamie

      Monday, March 1, 2010 at 14:33

  4. great shot, jamie!

    Saturday, February 27, 2010 at 16:58

    • Hi Katie,

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Your feedback is always welcome.

      Jamie

      Monday, March 1, 2010 at 14:33

  5. Much better than my first effort , all I did was get knocked over and i had shots of the sky and my feet and the sand but not much water or waves.

    Sunday, February 28, 2010 at 12:55

    • Hi Merv,

      I hear you there. I thought I’d ripped my shoulder out on Thursday night after ‘going over the falls’.

      Jamie

      Monday, March 1, 2010 at 14:34

  6. Lucky bugger. I’ve always wanted a housing. One day.
    I`m sure you are going to have an absolute blast shooting the surf. You’ve already come away with a keeper. I want to see you out there when the decent Autumn swells hit.

    Sunday, February 28, 2010 at 15:11

    • Hi Luke,

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Autumn swell is going to be scary. If I coping a thumping in the waves now what is it going to be like in 2mths time?

      Jamie

      Monday, March 1, 2010 at 14:35

  7. Julie Broad

    Hi Jamie,
    Great pic. Just noticed in third line down, your word ‘memorised’. Should it read ‘mesmirized’?
    Sorry the Virgo in me – urrgh!
    Regards,
    julie

    Monday, March 1, 2010 at 15:23

    • Hi Julie,

      Thanks for that. You are indeed correct. I would actually take it one step further and say that mesmirized is the American spelling. 😉

      Jamie

      Monday, March 1, 2010 at 16:01

  8. chloe

    thats awesome haha!

    Monday, March 1, 2010 at 17:24

  9. Mel

    Way to go Jamie good on you for trying something new, would love to give this a go!

    Monday, March 1, 2010 at 19:13

  10. danproud

    A great start!! Sounds fun.

    Tuesday, March 2, 2010 at 10:19

  11. wayte27

    Hey Jamie, Im a huge fan of surf photography. Your Tassie shot of the stream and cradle Mtn is great by the way also. Pop over to wayte27.wordpress a for a surf shot from my recent trip to Esperance. cheers Adrian

    Tuesday, March 2, 2010 at 22:00

    • Hi Adrian,

      Thanks for the comment. I’ve been looking at your work and it does look good.

      Jamie

      Tuesday, March 2, 2010 at 22:15

  12. That’s an excellent start to photographing in the surf! Good job!

    Wednesday, March 3, 2010 at 22:49

    • Hi Graham,

      Thanks for that mate. As you said its a start, its not as easy as it seems.

      Jamie

      Thursday, March 4, 2010 at 20:25

  13. ecomuseimages

    Mate this is an absolute CRACKER of a shot, Id be stoked to have it on my wall.

    You may have heard of Anthony Warry? He photographed syrfers all over the world for Tracks, ASL etc etc. I have always looked up to him as a photographer, loved his surfing shots and his modeling shots are just awesome.

    Well, guess what? I am working with him for a month in April, in the Kimberley!! Gonna be a blast, cant wait…

    Here is his website:

    http://anthonywarry.com/

    Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 14:39

    • Hi Graham,

      Its always cool when you get to shoot with those that you look up to. It was an amazing experience last year for me to shoot with Christian Fletcher and his brother, I learnt so much from them and of course Neal from Spool Photography. For those experiences I’m truly grateful and I’m sure you’ll feel the same way as well.

      What are you doing for him?

      Jamie

      Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 19:50

  14. ecomuseimages

    We are working together on a travel DVD. I am hosting the DVD and Anthony is doing the stills.

    Cant wait!

    Tuesday, March 9, 2010 at 20:44

Leave a Reply

