Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Elizabeth St Wharf – Hobart

elizabeth wharf hobart tasmania australian landscape photography

Just another example of stunning Hobart, Tasmania.   This is Elizabeth St wharf in Hobart which really brought back some strong memories for me as I tied up to this exact same spot twice when I was still in the Navy.   Hobart was always a favourite stop over us as submariners, because of its character, though I never understood why the Navy was so insistent on sending us down there only during winter.  It was so cold.   I really like this shot as it captures the big tall ship so well.   I’d seen it the evening before and was really captivated by it (anyone who knows me knows I love boats).

Settings: 5 Stitch Image

Aperture – F16

ISO – 50

Shutter – 1/4sec


Again processing this just makes me want to go back and capture some more of Tasmania’s beauty.   Anyone else as fascinated by boats as I am?

Thanks,

Jamie Paterson

13 responses

  1. Really nice picture Jamie, a lot of mood in this shot.

    I’ve really enjoyed your last few posts about Tasmania. I was over there a few years ago and I loved all the little docks and sidestreets around the place. I wasn’t in to photography then, but looking back, it seemed great place to take some urban shots, especially at Battery Point, with the little old cottages. Did you stay for the entire time in Hobart or did you go to some other places?

    Sunday, February 14, 2010 at 20:39

    • Hi Lloyd,

      I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the ‘Tasmania Series’ of posts. I did manage to get out of Hobart in fact I stayed in Hobart for less than 24hrs out of the 5 day trip. I managed to cover so much ground in Hobart Lloyd because as you rightly said there is just so much to shoot there. I think I could spend two weeks shooting in just Hobart itself.

      Jamie

      Sunday, February 14, 2010 at 21:29

  2. Nice Jamie.

    What lens are you using ?

    Sunday, February 14, 2010 at 21:23

    • Hi Merv,

      Thanks for mate. I’ve been using the trusty 50mm F/1.2 lens again.

      Jamie

      Sunday, February 14, 2010 at 21:30

  3. Ah, good one.

    i’ve just bought an 85 1.2 , very nice piece of glass.

    Sunday, February 14, 2010 at 21:35

    • Hey Merv,

      If you’re trying to make me jealous, you have. I’ve been toying around with the idea of buying that 85mm for ages but the 50mm always seems to do the job. Michael Bates was here the other night showing me his 85mm and I drooled.

      Jamie

      Sunday, February 14, 2010 at 21:42

  4. There’s 2 more I’d like to add to the collection. The 50 1.2 and the 300 2.8 ….. one powerball … 🙂

    Sunday, February 14, 2010 at 21:47

    • I hear ya Merv. After seeing the results that Christian Fletcher got out of his 17mm Tilt Shift from our up north trip I’d love to add one of those the arsenal as well. Oh and a 600mm wouldn’t go astray either.

      Jamie

      Sunday, February 14, 2010 at 21:50

  5. Cool shot Jamie. Brings back memories from when I worked at the “Taste of Tasmania” festival which was held in that building. Good times.

    Monday, February 15, 2010 at 11:40

  6. G’Day Jamie,
    Looks like you have made the most of your time in Tassie!
    I haven’t been to Hobart for quite a while but you could spend a lot of time there, also the coast south of there is pretty speccy.
    Looking forward to the rest of your images from down there!

    Tim

    Monday, February 15, 2010 at 12:08

    • Hi Tim,

      Thanks for commenting. South coast is definitely something I want to capture next time as well as Mt Roland (your backyard) and I’d love to hit some wicked waterfalls as well.

      Jamie

      Monday, February 15, 2010 at 12:31

  7. Just of the Christmas/New Year period of 2004/2005. It was a hoot. I spent that year traveling around Australia. I think I was in Tasmania for about 2 months. Great place.

    Monday, February 15, 2010 at 23:38

Leave a Reply

