Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Canal Rocks – Yallingup Seascape

canal rocks yallingup australian seascapes landscapes

Hi Everyone,

About three weeks ago I headed down south as it had been awhile since I’d been down there.   I managed to tear around all over the place and see all the familiar spots that we all love.   The swell that weekend was absolutely massive, I headed down to Wyadup Rocks my first morning down there and if you’ve ever been to them early morning you’ll know that you spend more time looking at the ground trying to make your way down there rather than looking at the scenery.   Imagine my shock when I got down amongst the rocks and looked up at this wave that arrived out of the dark almost head height and slammed into the rocks!   I got drenched and the car had said it was 4 degrees before I got out of it, fortunately the camera was still dry.   I setup shop a little bit further back up the rocks and got some great photos.

Saturday evening saw me out at Canal Rocks and I took a walk around to the left of Canal Rocks instead of shooting Canal Rocks themselves and was presented with some really interesting rock formations.  This is a photo from that location settings were: F16, iso50, .3sec shutter speed.   The swell was still thumping through so I had to keep an eye out for the really big waves and scramble if I saw one, it was a hair raising experience!!!   Who said Landscape Photography was boring?    I visited Bunker Bay on Saturday morning and even though I didn’t get anything I was happy with I certainly walked away with a whole stack of ideas for another shoot there.

My favourite part of this photo is the water movement on the bottom lefthand side of the photograph.   I’ve never managed to capture water streaking across like that before.

Has anyone else been down south recently?

Hope you all had a great weekend,

Jamie Paterson

29 responses

  1. chloe

    i agree jamie, the water over the rocks (bottom left) is intense
    what kind of exposure did you use to achieve this photo(?)
    this makes me want to travel to perth!

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 19:26

  2. Stunning…

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 19:36

  3. Hi Chloe,

    Thanks for commenting. I used F16, ISO50 and .3sec for the shutter speed. Perth isn’t the greatest for landscape photography but down south a few hours out of Perth.

    J

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 19:44

  4. hope you didn’t get wet, jamie. good movement on the water

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 19:58

  5. Hi Shannon,

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I’m glad you liked the photo. 🙂

    Jamie

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 20:01

  6. Hi Katie! 🙂

    I didn’t get wet when taking this shot. I was able to see the waves as they were coming at me. Thanks for commenting.

    Jamie

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 20:07

  7. Thanks for everyones comments so far. You all ROCK!!!!

    Jamie

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 20:08

  8. Clint Baker

    very very nice mate well done!!! that water looks great!!

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 20:39

  9. Hey Clint,

    Much appreciated mate. I’m heading back down there again shortly but I’m guessing the Greek Islands where you are, are much nicer.

    Jamie

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 20:53

  10. yeah very nice Jamie.
    love the water movement.
    the sky is cool as well. it’s not a intense sunset or anything- but fits perfectly for this image i reckon 🙂

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 21:42

    • Hi Stephen,

      Thanks for commenting. I really liked the sky as well as you say it wasn’t intense so it didn’t overpower the photo.

      Jamie

      Monday, August 10, 2009 at 8:09

  11. Very nice. I love the colour of the rocks.

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 22:09

    • Hi Graham,

      How is that lens going? I was stoked with those rocks, I’ve seen Christian and Neal’s photos with rocks red like that and I have never managed to capture that colour until now. Woo Hoo.

      Jamie

      Monday, August 10, 2009 at 8:10

  12. Great photo, Jamie. Love the colors!

    Sunday, August 9, 2009 at 22:35

    • Hi Jess,

      Thanks for that. When are you and Jace coming back to Perth? I’ve got a Cottesloe photo waiting for you. 🙂

      Jamie

      Monday, August 10, 2009 at 8:11

  13. Hi Jamie, great image mate. The spray certainly does make it as it contrasts so well with rocks.

    Monday, August 10, 2009 at 6:18

    • Hi Andrew,

      Thanks for the comment. The more I look at that spray the more it absorbs me.

      Jamie

      Monday, August 10, 2009 at 8:12

  14. I do like this one very much Jamie, great image. The rock texture and that water movement is really nice!

    Monday, August 10, 2009 at 13:26

  15. 😯 Thats a stunner!

    Monday, August 10, 2009 at 18:02

  16. Clint Baker

    nothing like home mate….. or nothing like dunsborough!!! hahaha….. italy and the swiss alps soon so that should change my mind haha

    Monday, August 10, 2009 at 18:53

  17. featherheart

    I love this photo… nice color and balance. How wonderful it would be to see this landscape in person. Thanks for sharing your gift Jamie and thank you for leaving a comment on my site.

    Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 7:27

    • Hi Jessica,

      Thanks for your kind words. It certainly was an amazing site to behold.

      Jamie

      Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 18:49

  18. posted on your flickr, Sweet water movement and nice light too!

    Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 19:20

  19. Hi William,

    Thanks for the comment. 🙂 I’m heading back down there within the week to shoot the area again. I can’t wait.

    Jamie

    Wednesday, August 12, 2009 at 7:55

  20. ecomuseimages

    A real cracker of an image mate!!!

    Saturday, August 15, 2009 at 10:14

  21. Fantastic photo, Jamie. Well composed, brilliant colour, great exposure, well processed. Very nice, indeed.

    Monday, August 17, 2009 at 17:17

    • Hi Beau,

      Thanks for that great comment. 🙂 Brought a smile to my face, the best thing about this photo is that there was almost no photoshopping. Wish I could get more photos like that!

      Jamie

      Monday, August 17, 2009 at 19:37

Leave a Reply

