Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

How Sweet it is!

When you get to capture this before heading into work.   On Saturday morning I had to be at work by 0600, so I got up a little earlier and headed out to Matilda Bay to check it out.  It wasn’t the greatest sunrise but for about 3 or 4 minutes there was a really intense golden yellow being pushed out from the sun, it set the mood for a fantastic Saturday.  Firstly work went well and then I got to meet a great bunch of people in the afternoon.   Hope you enjoy.

Thanks

Jamie Paterson

33 responses

  1. Fantastic colours!

    Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 22:08

  2. impressive depth Jamie. One of your best.

    Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 22:18

  3. dylanfox

    defitnetly one of my favourite of yours to date!

    Where is this spot! I have been wanting to shoot it for quite some time!

    Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 22:29

  4. Clint Baker

    Wow the river was very calm…. colours look great, just popped that shot up mate

    Sunday, October 5, 2008 at 23:57

  5. jamiepatersonphotography

    Woo Hoo!!! Thanks Christian you made my day.

    Jamie Paterson

    Monday, October 6, 2008 at 6:57

  6. jamiepatersonphotography

    Thanks Marty and Clint. 🙂

    Monday, October 6, 2008 at 6:57

  7. Mel

    Great composition on this one ,I like it alot.

    Monday, October 6, 2008 at 7:24

  8. jamiepatersonphotography

    Thanks for that Mel. Much appreciated.

    Monday, October 6, 2008 at 7:50

  9. Love the colours and reflection Jamie

    Monday, October 6, 2008 at 10:12

  10. tonymiddleton

    fantastic image Jamie ! ahhh…the joys of an early start. I love the stillness of the river and the ‘floating’ jetty is perfect !

    Monday, October 6, 2008 at 17:21

  11. lukeaustin

    Very Very Nice! I don’t know what else to say…… I agree with Christian though. One of your best. Great work.

    Monday, October 6, 2008 at 18:49

  12. jamiepatersonphotography

    Neal, Tony and Luke,

    THanks very much for the great comments, it means a lot to me to get feedback like that.

    Jamie Paterson

    Monday, October 6, 2008 at 19:42

  13. kirkhille

    Nice shot mate love the colors and reflection

    Monday, October 6, 2008 at 20:14

  14. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Kirk,

    THanks for that. Hopefully we’ll get more light like this soon.

    Jamie

    Tuesday, October 7, 2008 at 18:52

  15. stunning Jamie!
    what a way to start the day. not much more to say…. 🙂

    Tuesday, October 7, 2008 at 18:57

  16. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Stephen,

    Thanks so much I’m so stoked now that I actually made the effort to get up early for this shot.

    Jamie Paterson

    Wednesday, October 8, 2008 at 19:54

  17. billybaxter

    Hi Jamie,
    My name is Steve and I have just bought a 1Ds mk3. I have been looking for a good lens to stick on the front, any ideas

    Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 17:02

  18. billybaxter

    Hi Jamie,
    My name is Steve and I have just bought a 1Ds mk3. I have been looking for a good lens to stick on the front, any ideas

    Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 17:04

  19. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Steve,

    Thanks for stopping by. I hope you enjoy the 1Ds MkIII as much as I do. Before I answer the lens question, what are you going to use it for? I predominately use the 50mm F1.2, probably 90% of the time, otherwise I will use the 27-70mm lens, its a really versatile lens and I know others are getting great results out of it.

    Jamie

    Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 18:36

  20. billybaxter

    Yo Jamie,
    Thanks for your reply. Basically I bought my 1ds for landscape but shoot weddings on sRAW as well. Ive only had 2 session shooting landscape with this camera and both times the sky was boring but still got ok shots. I used my 24-70 f2.8 and I really would like to shoot with a prime. I have a 100mm f2.8 and 50mm f1.4 which I love but now back into landscape Im thinking of 20mm f 2.8 as its cheap and should be sharp. The other option would be 24mm f1.4 which costs heaps. I use a polariser and gradient, is it my imagination or do filters stuff the quaility of your image ?

    cheers Steve

    Tuesday, October 21, 2008 at 22:58

  21. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Steve,

    Cheap filters can have an affect on your photos however, if you look at Dylan’s work and Kirk’s work its sensationaly using affordable lenses. I use Singh Ray filters (be warned not cheap) and many others use Lee Filters.

    I’m not a big fan of really wide lenses for landscapes, prefer my 50mm, however people like Christian are using the 24mm for single shot images and the 50mm for stiching. Its all down to personal choice and $$$$$$.

    Jamie

    Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 20:54

  22. jamiepatersonphotography

    Dylan,

    Sorry I didn’t see your comment, it is Matilda Bay literally right out the front of UWA, probably the closest I’ll ever get to UWA. hehe.

    Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 20:56

  23. billybaxter

    Hi again Jamie,
    Looked at the other guys sites and their work is brilliant.
    Is there many guys shooting landscape on digital or are they using the 6×17 film format.
    I have the slide in cokin filter system, would the glass lee’s be better ?

    Ta

    Wednesday, October 22, 2008 at 22:05

  24. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Steve

    They are all using digital. Kirk is using Cokin’s and Neal (Spool) and Christian both use Lee Resin filters. I believe the Lee filters should be better than the Cokin.

    Jamie

    Friday, October 24, 2008 at 1:46

  25. billybaxter

    Hi Jamie,
    Thanks for your advice the other day on filters. Im yet to get my 1Ds working on a nice landscape but sure the time will come. Today I went and bought a Lee filter system and one of the guys was saying that Christian Fletcher is using a 1Ds and a 50mm lens ??????? would this be true ? and how hard is it to stich images together ????
    Oh, and when are you looking to shoot another nice sunrise ? its a bit cloudy ?

    Hope to talk soon, Cheers, Steve.

    Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 15:36

  26. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Steve,

    Christian is quite open about the fact that he uses a 1Ds MkII and a 50mm lens for his stitching. In fact I use my 50mm f1.2 for almost everything as well. Stitching in certain circumstances can be extremely tricky. I guess the best way to learn about stitching is to have a go.

    I’m not sure when I’ll take my next landscape it depends on what Mother Nature throws at us. 🙂 If I feel a day is going to be a good day then I will duck out somewhere, until then I just impatiently wait around.

    Jamie

    Wednesday, October 29, 2008 at 20:31

  27. billybaxter

    Hi Jamie,
    I got up at 5am this morning to do a landscape shot. I didn’t expect anything fantastic to happen but thought finding a the right place first would be good and the fact I had just spent a lot of cash on filters fueled my desire to shoot.

    I did a jetty shot with my 50mm 1.4 and now having a go at stitching.
    I find it hard to get the whole image in focus even running it at f22 ?
    Keen as mustad to nail one, might see you out there one morning, thanks.

    Thursday, October 30, 2008 at 8:24

  28. billybaxter

    Yo Jamie,
    I think its going to be a good night for a sunset.
    See ya there………..

    Friday, October 31, 2008 at 16:34

  29. billybaxter

    Hi Jamie,
    I;m heading up north for a few weeks. I’m taking some soft ND grads, do you think I should take some hards ?

    Friday, November 7, 2008 at 7:35

  30. This is such a great shot… the colours and the smoothness of the water.

    I’d like to add your link to my blog if that’s OK..

    Looking forward to more shots…

    Mike

    Monday, November 24, 2008 at 4:43

  31. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Mike,

    Thanks for the comment. No problems with the link. I’ll add you as well.

    Thanks,

    Jamie Paterson

    Monday, November 24, 2008 at 5:50

  32. Hi Jamie,

    been looking at some of your photos, really great work and can see the growth over the last six months. This is a beautiful shot. I actually went down there this morning after seeing your shot, but it was nothing like it. Still nice and glassy tho and a flash of colour for a short stint

    Craig

    Tuesday, April 14, 2009 at 11:17

  33. Hi Craig,

    Thank you for stopping by and commenting. This morning definitely wasn’t anything like that morning. 🙂

    Jamie Paterson

    Tuesday, April 14, 2009 at 13:31

Leave a Reply

