Jamie Paterson – Images of Inspiration, Captivation, and Fascination

Fast Escape!!!

So I blame Spool Photography for my latest bad luck.  After he wrote a post about how does eveyone back up their photos I started to see some funny things happening with my brand spanking new laptop.   Like a true IT professional I ignored it for about a week, but the past few days things were getting worse and worse.   Yesterday I did a Family Portrait for some good friends and at the end of the shoot copied all the files across to the laptop and then couldn’t open Photoshop.  I already back up everything on a ‘regular’ 3 monthly basis so I ran off and grabbed the external USB hard drive that I had for backups.   5 mins after the back up completed the hard drive in the laptop died a miserable death. 

Talk about lucky!!!

Jamie Paterson

4 responses

  1. dylanfox

    It wasn’t a mac was it?

    Monday, September 8, 2008 at 21:42

  2. kirkhille

    Yeah ,
    Iv started to back up more regulary now and the price of external hard drives has dropped so much . A few years back had my motherboard crash on one of my machines and it was running a Sata raid of 3 hard drives and i hadnt backed any thing up had about 2 terra bits worth of stuff on there 😦
    Lucky for me a friend had file scavanger and i was able to retrive a lot of stuff , but took a while . After that I back up quite regulary now 🙂

    Tuesday, September 9, 2008 at 5:54

  3. Cant blame me been totally out of action with the flu …. 😉

    Tuesday, September 9, 2008 at 9:20

  4. jamiepatersonphotography

    Hi Dylan,

    No it was a Dell laptop. Fortunately, they have now replaced the hard drive and I’m copying everything back onto it now.

    Jamie Paterson

    Tuesday, September 9, 2008 at 18:22

Leave a Reply

